The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble - Mutations EP - adn105
ImageA bridge between their first album on Planet Mu and the forthcoming second one on Ad Noiseam, the "Mutations EP" is The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble's coming of age. Profound and organic but dark and impressive, it is a perfect rendition of the ensemble's live shows and the proof that there is still something fresh to be done at the meeting point of post-rock, jazz and drones. A deeply emotional and original trip. (Get this on CD / on 12" / as mp3)
Following their remarkable (and remarked) début album released by Planet Mu in 2006, the international “super group” that is The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble present with “Mutations” both a companion to their first CD and an appetizer to their forthcoming second album.

Having incorporated new musicians, learned from their numerous live shows and incorporated new influences in their sound, The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble sound more mature than ever before in this 8- track, 39-minute EP, which features new tracks alongside re-works of older ones.

An act combining profound musical sensibilities (and, after all, revolving around two very well known actors of the Dutch music scene), deeply emotional harmonies and an acute ear for genre inter-breeding, The Kilimanjaro places itself once again and the confluent of post-rock, dusty and gritty jazz and low-end doom- laden drones, and comes up with a music which is at the same time warm and dark, brooding and misty, cinematic and dynamic.

From the build-up of “Caos Calmo” to the almost childish, pristine melodies of “Shadows” or “Avian Lung”, The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble opens here again new paths for organic, human but massive compositions, and demonstrate that their impressive live shows can be perfectly rendered on record. The fruit of experimented and adventurous musicians' demanding work, for a breath-taking, mesmerizing experience.

The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble
Mutations EP

Release date:
January 2009

Release date:
February 2009

In the store:Buy this on CD
Buy this on 12"
Buy this as mp3

Tracklisting: 1. Caos Calmo
2. München
3. Serpents
4. Twisted Horizons
5. Shadows
6. Symmetry Of 6's
7. Horns Of King David
8. Avian Lung

Mastered by C-Drík at Syrphe.
Artwork by Seldon Hunt.

Information:The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble:


Avian Lung

München (excerpt)

Other releases by Jason Kohnen on Ad Noiseam: Bong-Ra: Grindkrusher - adn47
Bong-Ra: Monsters Of Mashup (with Enduser and Shitmat) - adn49
Bong-Ra: I Am The God Of Hellfire - adn55
Bong-Ra: Stereohype Heroin Hooker - adn64
Bong-Ra: Sick Sick Sick - adn75
Bong-Ra: The Kill (with Enduser) - adn76
The Mt Fuji Doomjazz Corporation: Doomjazz Future Corpses! - adn81
Bong-Ra: Full Metal Racket - adn84 The Mt Fuji Doomjazz Corporation: Succubus - adn112
The Kilimanjaro Darkjazz Ensemble: Here Be Dragons - adn120
Bong-Ra: Monster - adn131
Wormskull: Sound Of Hell - adn144
Latest releases
  • DJ Hidden - Directive
  • Ontal - Entropia
  • Swarm Intelligence - Rust - adn189
  • Drumcorps - Falling Forward - adn188
  • 2methyl - Layer 8 - adn187
  • Stavros Gasparatos - Expanded Piano - adn186
  • Gore Tech - Futurphobia - adn185
  • Igorrr & Ruby My Dear - Maigre - adn184
  • Swarm Intelligence - Faction - adn183
  • Oyaarss - Zemdega - adn182
  • Free compilation
  • Ad Noiseam Summer 2011 label compilation
  • Live shows:

    put your feet in theirs like you just don't care