Hecq - Conversions - adn174
ImageThe fruit of a very long writing process and a project which Hecq had been wanting to bring for completion for years, "Conversions" is this artist's homage to his peers, influences and friends. From Bersarin Quartet to Lusine ICL, from Svarte Greiner to The Outside Agency, Ben Lukas Boysen chose for this album eleven tracks which mean a lot to him, and delivers here his own versions and remixes. A highly personal and uncommonly varied album which Hecq has been creating with care and carrying close to his heart. Get this on CD / as a poster print with download code / as digital files.
Over the course of a decade, Ben Lukas Boysen has shown with his Hecq project that he was a man of many sounds, moods and influences. An avid collaborator, he has worked with a wide array of musicians ranging from his predecessors to younger newcomers, inviting them behind the mixing desk or providing them with a chance to re-work his own productions.

After having revisited his earliest material last year with "Horror Vacui", Hecq shines another light to his career and pays homage to his peers, all the while providing his fans with a rare glimpse in the music which has defined him or which he listens to between two recording sessions. The idea of having an album made entirely of his remixes of other people's original material was born a few years ago, when Hecq was putting the final touch to his highly praised "Sura" EP and embarking onto what some have seen as his most surprising and unexpected shift. Both a challenge and a playful concept, "Conversions" is the meeting point between on the one hand Hecq's talent and production experience and, on the other hand, the diversity and quality of the original tracks.

Ben Boysen set very high expectations to himself with "Conversions", which in part explains why this project took several years to bring to completion. Each of the ten remixes on this album went through many distinct (con)versions, as the goal was both to respect the initial tracks and to present Hecq's capacity in a recognizable way. None of these pieces could stick too much to their original selves, and none could be purely Hecq's music. The result speaks for itself, with Bong-Ra's breakcore anthem turned into a dub-heavy downtempo track, Ruby My Dear's breakbeat magnified in flowing melodies, or D-Saw's dancefloor techno getting a second life as a gritty, subdued and mesmerizing loop.

A tour de force and an exercise in style, "Conversions" is also an important and interesting document for all of us who ever wondered what was playing on Hecq's turntable or mp3 player. Opening and closing with reinterpretation of deep and atmospheric material (by Bersarin Quartett and Svarte Greiner), "Conversions" finds its path through hardcore (The Hardcore Agency's well known "Godspeed"), techno and IDM (Anodyne's much underrated When The Sky Fell Down), showcasing the artists who Ben Boysen respects, admires and listens to.

An original concept and a very diverse output, all the while under the banner of Hecq's masterful production and highly evocative creations: “Conversions” is a deeply personal addition to the discography of an important figure of today's electronic music world.

Catalog number:
CD / poster with download code / digital
Release date:
July 7th, 2014

Artwork by Florence To
Mastering by Lupo at Calyx

Tracklisting: All tracks remixed by Hecq:
1. Bersarin Quartett: Zum Greifen Nah

2. Ruby My Dear: Hawa

3. Roel Funcken: Vertox Dreaming

4. D-Saw: Track 10:30

5. The Outside Agency: Godspeed

6. Lusine ICL: Scheming

7. Anodyne: When The Sky Fell Down

8. TechDiff: Thirteen Acres

9. Bong-Ra: 666mph

10. Svarte Greiner: Final Sleep

In the store: -get this on CD
-get this as a poster print with download code
-get this as digital files


Below is a preview of the limited edition, 250g photographic paper poster print edition of this album.

Latest releases
  • DJ Hidden - Directive
  • Ontal - Entropia
  • Swarm Intelligence - Rust - adn189
  • Drumcorps - Falling Forward - adn188
  • 2methyl - Layer 8 - adn187
  • Stavros Gasparatos - Expanded Piano - adn186
  • Gore Tech - Futurphobia - adn185
  • Igorrr & Ruby My Dear - Maigre - adn184
  • Swarm Intelligence - Faction - adn183
  • Oyaarss - Zemdega - adn182
  • Free compilation
  • Ad Noiseam Summer 2011 label compilation
  • Live shows:

    Audiobots, transform!