Mothboy "Exonian" - adn52
ImageAlmost a year has passed since the release of Mothboy’s critically acclaimed album "The Fears". Since then, Mothboy has been busy fillung up dancfloors and cooking bass heavy mixes for Akira The Don, 65Daysofstatic, Enduser, Mad E.P. and other artists. To fill the gab between this debut and his follow up "Deviance" (due in 2006), Mothboy comes back with a 6 track ep, "Exonian". (Get this on 12" / as mp3)
But "Exonian" is more than a small bridge between two albums. Mothboy has enlisted the talented MC Equivalant (last heard on Mad E.P.’s album "Eating Movies", also on Ad Noiseam) on the opening radio hit "Too Close". The track itself is an acid bass electro stomper , with more than enough hooks to pull you off your chair and onto the dancefloor. Another new track, "C.S.R." sees Mothboy taking a lo-fi trip-hop route with an odd to the old Mo Wax beats, the whole thing enriched with the participation of DJ A La Fu (Ninja Tune, VaVa Records), known for his cuts for Roots Manuva and Mike Ladd. Finally, "Slowraider", on the B side, is a jam in the vein of Mothboy’s popular live sets; a track that will turn heads, a relentless electro, hard micro-house number with a sure place in DJ bags and sets for a long time.

The "Exonian" also features some heavy remixed and reworked versions of standards from "The Fears". Ad Noiseam’s own Mad E.P. (also working here with Equivalent on the mic) takes the beats and the shape of "Stuck in a moment" and mutates it into a threatening mix of hectic breaks and sub harmonic mayhem. Jeff Mill’s favourite Monrella (a.k.a. Mick Harris) turns "Becoming solar" into a chest thumping piece of 4/4 Detroit noir. Finally, "Exonian" closes with Mothboy’s own remake of "A303", faster, more neurotic and richer in bass than ever.

"Exonian" is yet another showcase in Mothboy’s ever evolving, ever changing sound and is yet more evidence in his skill and ability as one of the leading lights in the current crop of new UK producers. A record suitable for home playing and for P.A shaking.

Release date:
October 2005

In the store:Buy this on 12"
Buy this as mp3

Tracklisting: A1. Too close (feat. Mc Equivalant)
A2. Stuck in a Moment (Killa soul remix by Mad E.P.)
A3. C.S.R. (cuts by DJ A La Fu)
B1. Slowraider
B2. Becoming Solar - remix by Monrella
B3. A303 - remix by Mothboy

Mastered by C-Drík at Syrphe.

Information:Mothboy -


Too Close (excerpt)

Slowraider (excerpt)

Other releases by Mothboy on Ad Noiseam: -Bunny (adn123)
-Beg / Movement (adn96)
-Deviance (adn69)
-The Fears (adn39)
Latest releases
  • DJ Hidden - Directive
  • Ontal - Entropia
  • Swarm Intelligence - Rust - adn189
  • Drumcorps - Falling Forward - adn188
  • 2methyl - Layer 8 - adn187
  • Stavros Gasparatos - Expanded Piano - adn186
  • Gore Tech - Futurphobia - adn185
  • Igorrr & Ruby My Dear - Maigre - adn184
  • Swarm Intelligence - Faction - adn183
  • Oyaarss - Zemdega - adn182
  • Free compilation
  • Ad Noiseam Summer 2011 label compilation
  • Live shows:

    and the girl said "can you play some pretty drum'n'bass?"