Cakebuilder "Feeding The Worms" - adn95
ImageFrom its symphonic opening to its sweeping heavy basses, Cakebuilder's second record for Ad Noiseam shows that things are still deep in Winnipeg. Bridging angry, dark dubstep and a highly melodic drive, Cakebuilder opens a new gate for the genre, where "dub" is replaced by something a lot colder and orchestral. Cinematic dubstep of the blackest shade. (Get this on 12" / as mp3)
The skies haven't cleared up above Winnipeg since Cakebuilder's 2006 début "Decks'n'Demons" (Ad Noiseam adn71). Back behind his machines, Jeremy Pillipow still shows that dark and deep things are on up north, but slows things down considerably, while keeping the drive that made of his previous record a success.

Taking his compositions to a trip across the ocean, Cakebuilder incorporates in his new material a heavy influence from the British dubstep scenes, as shown with his newly sweeping basses, his mid-tempo rhythms and his heavier, deeper beats. Having lost its hectic side, he is able to bridge his carefully crafted structures with an up-to-date club feeling and some very dark orchestral undertones.

From the cinematic opening of "Walk In Shadows" to the syncopated beats of "Mohyla" through the wobbly bass line of "Dark Beast", Cakebuilder shows that Winnipeg is not London, but a much more wicked place, where club kids are replaced by twitching evils. As much as "Decks'n'Demons" had been called "breakcore for the discerning zombie", "Feeding The Worms" is cinematic dubstep of the blackest shade.

Feeding The Worms
Release date:
August 26, 2008

In the store:Buy this on 12"
Buy this as mp3

Tracklisting:A1. Walk In Shadows
A2. Dark Beast
B1. Smutok
B2. Mohyla

Artwork by Cakebuilder.
Mastered by C-Drík at Syrphe.



Walk In Shadows (excerpt)

Dark Beast (excerpt)

Other releases by Cakebuilder on Ad Noiseam: -Decks'n'Demons - adn71
Latest releases
  • DJ Hidden - Directive
  • Ontal - Entropia
  • Swarm Intelligence - Rust - adn189
  • Drumcorps - Falling Forward - adn188
  • 2methyl - Layer 8 - adn187
  • Stavros Gasparatos - Expanded Piano - adn186
  • Gore Tech - Futurphobia - adn185
  • Igorrr & Ruby My Dear - Maigre - adn184
  • Swarm Intelligence - Faction - adn183
  • Oyaarss - Zemdega - adn182
  • Free compilation
  • Ad Noiseam Summer 2011 label compilation
  • Live shows:

    All records which at us are presented, it is improvisation.